Top-level science is what the ETH Domain provides with its combined staff of more than 22000, over 3200 students and doctoral students and about 860 professors. The ETH Domain consists of the two Federal Institutes of Technology, ETH Zurich and EPFL (Lausanne), and four further research institutes, the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL), the Swiss Federal Laboratory for Materials Testing and Research (Empa) and the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (Eawag). Appointed by the Swiss Federal Council the ETH Board is the strategic management and supervisory body of the ETH Domain. It supervises development plans, carries out control activities and ensures good coordination with its partners. It also draws up estimates and accounts for the ETH Domain’s budget and coordinates the management and maintenance of its real estate. It is an electoral authority and represents the ETH Domain in dealings with the authorities of the Confederation.